News from home / National Nati news / Reo and Culture
Written by:
1 Nov 2013

A combined entry by the Te Aitanga- a-Hauiti Centre for Excellence and Radio Ngati Porou saw the East Coast group win the supreme award at the national Maori language awards in Gisborne on Friday 15 November 2013.

Earlier in the evening the roopu had also won the Broadcasting Māori Medium Award. Radio Ngati Porou Chief Executive Erana Keelan-Reedy joked that there was no one left in Uawa last night because they were all on stage with her to receive the award.

The joint Te Aitanga a Hauiti and Radio Ngati Porou entry was commended for their collaborative work in broadcasting the tangihanga for the late Ikaroa-Rawhiti MP Parekura Horomia this year. The tangihanga was streamed live around the world from Hauiti marae, using radio and video webcasting technology.

A record 600 people attended the sold-out awards evening at the Showgrounds Park Event Centre. The awards boasted 33 finalists in 11 contestable categories. Radio Ngati Porou was a Finalist in the Broadcasting Maori Medium award for the Manu Waiata competition.

Ngati Porou songs resonated throughout the whole evening. Dr Apirana Mahuika, a guest speaker for the evening, gave an inspiring korero and emphasised the need for us to retain the purity of our own words and language. The winner of Radio Ngati Porou’s Manu Waiata Ruawhaitiri Ngatai-Mahue was a guest performer on the evening and was well received by the crowd.

Reflecting on the evening, Radio Ngati Porou Chief Executive Erana Keelen-Reedy said, “It is a very humbling experience and validation of the good work we are all managing to do on meagre resources, pakaru headphones and all, but with loads and loads of passion."

"Winning the Supreme Award was a very fitting tribute to Parekura and the work he did for the language and our people.” The successes for Radio Ngati Porou at the national Maori language Awards follow on from their successes earlier in the year at the New Zealand Radio Awards, where they won Iwi Station of the Year.

Photo Above: Back row left to right:  Glenis Phillip Barbara (Chief Executive of Taurawhiri i te Reo Maori), Mayor Meng Foon, Dr Wayne Ngata, Selwyn Parata (RNP Chair), Taina Ngarimu (RNP Trustee), Wallace Horomia, Maui Tangohau.  Front row: Justine Keelan, Isobel Roberts, Dr Apirana Mahuika, Erana Keelan-Reedy (Radio Ngati Porou Manager)

Add new comment