14 Jul 2018

Notice is given that a by-election is required to fill a casual vacancy in the Rohenga Tipuna 3 – Pohautea ki Te Onepoto seat on the board of directors of Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou Trustee Limited (TRONPnui). 

Candidates:  An independent nomination process has been conducted by Te Puni Kokiri’s Gisborne office.  Seven eligible candidates have been nominated.  They are: 

  • Hohaia Collier
  • Hira Ohlson
  • Ngarangi Kanewa Walker
  • Aroha Couling
  • Dorina Paenga
  • Derek Tinia Fox
  • Henare Te Apatari Porou

Information about each candidate is in the “Candidate Profiles” document in the voting packs to be sent to adult iwi members entitled to vote in this by-election. 

Voting will open on Monday 16 July 2018 and close at 5:00pm on Friday 10 August 2018. 

It will be conducted by online and postal voting.  Voting instructions are set-out in each voting paper and in the online voting form. 

Voting Eligibility: 

Persons who were registered in Rohenga Tipuna 3 for the 2015 TRONPnui Election:

Voting is open to all adult iwi members (18 years and over) registered on the Ngati Porou Register and with a primary affiliation to Rohenga Tipuna 3 – Pohautea ki Te Onepoto as at the date upon which the 2015 TRONPnui board election closed (ie, Wed 14 October 2015). 

Persons who are newly registered in Rohenga Tipuna 3 since the 2015 TRONPnui Election:

Voting is also open to all adult iwi members (18 years and over) who, since the 2015 election, registered for the first time with TRONPnui; and who chose a primary affiliation to one of the five marae within Rohenga Tipuna 3 – Pohautea ki Te Onepoto, being:  Tikapa, Te Horo, Waiomatatini, Kakariki and Tinatoka. Eligibility to vote applies to any such member who is not yet 18 but who turns 18 on or before the closing date for voting, being Friday 10 August 2018.

Voting packs will be posted to eligible voters from Monday 16 July 2018.

Registration Enquiries: 

Please direct registration enquiries to the Ngati Porou Registration Administrator, ph 0800 676 768 or 06 864 9004 or email registrations@tronp.org.nz.  TRONPnui invites any iwi member  aged 18 years or over who has not already enrolled to apply to be included on the Ngati Porou Register. 

Voting Enquiries: 

The independent Chief Returning Officer is Anthony Morton and the Deputy Returning Officer is Warwick Lampp, of electionz.com, Christchurch.  Further information about the by-election process is available from the Chief Returning Officer by phoning the Election Helpline on 0800 666 046 or emailing iro@electionz.com

Anthony Morton
Chief Returning Officer
0800 666 046

Downloadable Documents: