Ngati Porou Hauora is a subsidiary of Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou, and provides health services to the Ngati Porou East Coast region.  To visit their website click here.


Ngati Porou Hauora was originally established in 1995 as an Incorporated Society to provide an integrated health service for people residing within the Ngati Porou rohe. At that time Ngati Porou Hauora was the only Iwi Health organisation in the country to offer hospital care. Since that time  Ngati Porou Hauora has grown to operate 7 community clinics, provide various public and clinical health services and employ over 200 people. From its inception in 1995 until March 2011, Ngati Porou Hauora was owned and managed by a board of elected community members representing the communities of the East Coast.

In March 2011 Ngati Porou Hauora came under the umbrella of Te Runanga o Ngati Porou, as one of its subsidiaries with Charitable Trust Status.

When Te Runanga o Ngati Porou was dissolved on 6 April 2012 after Royal Assent was given to the Ngati Porou Claims Settlement Act, Ngati Porou Hauora became part of the Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou Group of subsidiaries.


The current board inclues Teepa Wawatai, Huti Watson, Matt Pavarno, Rhonda Tibble and Dr Emily McNichols