Ngati Porou Holding Company Ltd, is a subsidiary of Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou, and is the organisation’s commercial arm / wealth creation division. The purpose of Ngati Porou Holding Company is to generate sustainable profits for the benefit of Ngati Porou now and in the future.

NPHCL owns and administers $230m in commercial assets including equity investments, and farming, seafood and tourism businesses.


The Runanganui established Ngati Porou Holdco in June 2012, appointing five establishment directors, who were all external appointees. The Trust Deed does allow for up to 40% of the Holdco membership to consist of TRONPnui board memers, however it was decided to appoint those who had commercial expertise.  Holdco can have a maximum board size of seven directors and a minimum of five. All directors are Ngati Porou.

Ngati Porou Holding Company present board members include:

Matanuku Mahuika 

Te Whanau a Rakaimataura, Te Whanau a Hinerupe and Te Whanau a Umuariki.

Matanuku was appointed to the NPHCL Board in 2012 and has served as the Board Chair during that time. He has also served on the Board of Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou from 2015-2019. He holds a number of other directorships including: The NZ Merino Company Ltd, Eastland Group Limited,  Eastland Port Limited, Gisborne Airport Limited, Eastland Network Limited, Nga Taonga o Nga Tama Toa Trust, Te Tira Toi Whakangao Limited (T3W) and Callaghan Innovation.  Matanuku has been in corporate and private practice since 1991, and co-founded Kāhui Legal in 2003.  His legal experience includes advising on a wide range of corporate, commercial, Treaty of Waitangi, Māori land and administrative law issues. Prior to establishing Kāhui Legal, Matanuku was a partner at Walters Williams & Co and in-house counsel at the Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission.

Kristen Kohere-Soutar

Kristen is from from Rangiata Station, East Cape. Her hapu are Te Whanau a Tarahauiti, Te Whanau a Rerewa and Ngai Tane.  Kristen is also from Ngai Tahu and Rongowhakaata.  Kristen was appointed as the first wahine to the NPHCL Board in 2012 and brings 16 years of professional governance experience.  Additional board roles include: Chair of Mercer NZ, a large global investments, health and human resources consulting firm.  Associate Director, Hilton Haulage, Ngai Tahu owned Trucking haulage and freight company. Kristen's previous roles include: Chair of Ngai Tahu's Managed Investment Scheme Whairawa Funds Ltd, Director of Foundation North and Director Aotearoa Credit Union.  Kristen's previous executive leadership experience included Head of Specialist Markets Strategy and Development at Kiwibank, where she developed one of New Zealand's first enterprise wide Maori banking strategy’s.  More recently she worked at New Zealand Trade and Enterprise facilitating export business collaborations of C-suite leaders in the manuka honey, seafood and strong wool sectors.

Diana Puketapu

Ko Whetumatarau te maunga
Ko Awatere te awa
Ko Ngati Porou toku iwi
Ko Te Whanau a Hinerupe toku hapu
Ko Tutua me Kaiwaka toku marae
Ko Hekiera Puketapu raua ko Te Ara Te Ngahue oku tipuna
Ko Noema Puketapu raua ko Bev Gauld oku matua
Ko Diana Puketapu toku ingoa 

Diana was appointed to the NPHCL Board in 2015 and is also a Director on the NP Seafoods Ltd/NP Fisheries Limited Board.  Diana’s executive management experience include positions as Chief Financial Officer for Ngati Whatua Orakei and Chief Financial Officer for the BMW Oracle America's Cup team in New Zealand and abroad.  She is a Fellow Chartered Accountant and a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors.  Diana’s governance experience includes directorship on the following boards:   NZ Olympic Committee, Tamaki Redevelopment Company Ltd, Tamaki Regeneration Company, Tamaki Housing Association, Napier Port, NZ Cricket and Manawanui Support Limited.

Bobbi Morice

Ko Te Aitanga a Mate, Te Aowera, Te Whanau a Hinekehu me Te Whanau a Rakairoa oku hapu.  Ko Ngati Porou toku iwi.

Bobbi was appointed to the NPHCL board in 2019 with fellow member Bailey Mackey.  Along with her husband, Bobbi is the owner operator of the famous Ruatoria Pies, which has been operating for 15 years.  Bobbi has been a business mentor for 10 years to whanau and marae trustees on the East Coast and Gisborne District and has worked with over 50 whanau providing advice when they need it.  She delivered business planning at the Te Puni Kokiri (TPK) biz hub in Gisborne for 2 years and developed and facilitated the East Coast Whanau Enterprise Project.  She currently works for TPK based in Ruatoria.

Bailey Mackey

Ko Te Whānau a Karuwai, Ngāi Tane, Te Whānau a Takimoana, Ngāti Rangi, Te Aitanga a Mate, Ngāti Oneone oku Hapu.  Ko Ngāti Porou te Iwi.

Bailey was appointed to the NPHCL board in 2019 and is the CEO of Pango Productions, one of New Zealand's leading independent production companies producing film and television content for local and international distribution.  He is a member of Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern’s Business Advisory Council and also on the Steering Group of Dubai 2020 NZ Pavillion and was recently appointed a  director of NZ Rugby.

Dean Moana

Ko Te Whanau a Takimoana, Hinepare, Ngai Tane, Umuariki, Uepohatu oku Hapu.  Ko Ngati Porou me Te Whanau a Apanui oku Iwi.

Dean was appointed to the NPHCL Board at the end of 2019 and was also elected to the governance board for Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou representing Rohenga Tipuna 2.  Dean’s executive and governance roles have spanned a variety of primary industries from fishing, forestry to farming.   He has served on several commercial, Iwi and industry boards prior to and since becoming a certified IOD director in 1998.  Dean is a fully qualified Chartered Accountant  (CA) and was awarded a Fellowship by Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ) in 2015.

Holdco Subsidiaries 

Holdco is the sole shareholder of Pakihiroa Farms limited and the companies in the Ngati Porou Seafoods Group. These subsidiaries report to Holdco, and Holdco appoints and removes the directors, and monitors and oversees the companies. 

Ngati Porou Holdco Statement of Investment Policies and Objectives (SIPO)

The Companies long term objectives are reflected in its Statement of Investment Policies and Objectives (SIPO), which are to maintain in perpetuity the real value of the financial assests and acheive growth and increase real spending power over time. The SIPO is in its fourth year of implementation and is due to be reviewed in year five. 

Click here to view the SIPO

Related Documents