“Hikurangi te maunga, Waiapu te awa, Porourangi te tangata e…”

 In 1921 the ECRFU was formally established and in 1922 it affiliated to the NZRU with 19 clubs under its umbrella. Since its inception rugby has thrived on the coast and is regarded as part in parcel of the community’s very identity.

It is played and enjoyed with such passion that the feats and camaraderie of yesterday are still retold on the Marae and in peoples homes.

The place that rugby has within our community cannot be underestimated.