Toitu Ngati Porou Charitable Trust

Toitu Ngati Porou is a Charitable Trust established as a wealth or benefit distribution entity to ensure that cultural development activities serve the needs of Ngati Porou now and in the future. 

The Runanganui established Toitu in June 2013, appointing seven establishment directors comprising three current directors of TRONPnui and four external appointees. This is in accordance with the Trust Deed, where up to 40% of the total membership can consist of TRONPnui Elected Representatives, with a maximum board size of seven directors and a minimum of five. All directors are Ngati Porou.

Guided by the Trust Deed the Toitu directors were selected to provide the board with a range of relevant skills and experience to best enable the fulfillment of Toitu’s purpose. 

Toitu held its inaugural meeting on 16 June 2013 and the Officers of Chair and Deputy Chair were elected:

  • Amohaere Houkamau – Chair
  • Barry Soutar (Deputy Chair) - (disestablished post 2015 TRONPnui board elections )
  • Amos Forrester
  • Lillian Baldwin
  • Rei Kohere
  • Wiki Gilvray
  • Tina Porou (resigned)

Since the second round of TRONPnui board elections in 2015, Barry Soutar who was one of three TRONPnui board representatives on the Toitu Board was not re-elected, therefore his position on Toitu was automatically disestablished. Tina Porou resigned from the board early 2016. These members have not been replaced so currently there are five members serving on the board. 

Guiding principles

To give effect to Toitu’s purpose, the directors will be guided by the following principles:

  • to act in the interests of all Members of Ngati Porou – Nga uri o nga whanau me nga hapu o Ngati Porou mai i Potikirua ki Te Toka a Taiau
  • to foster Te Reo ake o Ngati Porou me ona tikanga
  • to act in accordance with the relevant Ngati Porou tikanga to achieve the best possible standards of stewardship.

Related Documents